Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Suffering from Low Stomach Acid
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: January 27, 2010 07:11AM

I'm new to eating raw & vegan but have some special challenges due to chronic mercury poisoning. I have low stomach acid due to the poisoning & possibly compounded by eating a SAD diet. Low stomach acid caues malabsorption of iron & other nutrients. It is often mis-diagnosed as acid-reflux & treated w/ antacids which in turn make the problem worse in the long run. I have low ferritin (storage iron levels) as a result of low stomach acid & low ferritin contributes to my hypothyroidism, metabolic issues, fatigue & pain. I can't take high doses of iron supplements because my body thinks it is a heavy metal (common in mercury poisoned people) & works overtime trying to remove it which in turn makes my fatigue much worse. I can eat iron rich foods as they usually do not have high doses of iron. Antioxidents also help raise ferritin so I try to get a lot of antioxidents. I also have been taking betaine hydrochloric acid (HCL) w/ meals as directed by my medical provider but have not been able to work up to the full dose yet. I started eating a 75% raw vegan diet three weeks ago & the the other 25% is a gluten-free,low soy vegan diet. Before that I had been eating a low soy gluten-free (as of three months ago) SAD diet. I read that eating meat uses a lot of stomach acid. Ironically I started eating a lot of beef last yr to try to raise my ferretin levels at the advise of others. I'm sure I made things worse in doing so.