Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Dehydrated Foods
Posted by: rooneyandmuldoon ()
Date: August 17, 2006 02:51AM

I am new to raw foods, having been lacto-vegetarian for 17 years. I plan to work into it, dropping dairy first (the hardest part, I LOVE cheese). And I plan to allow myself to cheat a little if it keeps me from falling off the wagon entirely. But I am confused about why dehydrated foods are okay. Aren't these basically treated at high temperatures? By the way, is cheese cooked?...

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Dehydrated Foods
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 17, 2006 03:33AM

dehydration is usually done at about 105 degrees. Food enzymes are destroyed at 118 degrees, so normally dehydration does not kill the enzymes. One problem with dehydration is that the food natural water is removed but as long as you are eating fresh fruit and vegetables, dehydrated food is ok.
[www.healingdaily.com]

Date: August 17, 2006 06:10AM

Dehydrated foods are still raw and living. They still have life force energy in them. There are photographs on-line of dehydrated foods taken with a kirlian camera which shows that they are still alive.

Date: August 17, 2006 03:54PM

Thank you for your responses. The website was enlightening. Having everyone's comments to read about different facets of raw food is so helpful to staying the course.

Date: August 17, 2006 11:41PM