Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Make your Home a Healthy Home
Posted by: Jose ()
Date: August 25, 2006 03:08PM

Practical suggestions to minimise chemical and pollutant exposure around the house.

From [www.environmentaldefence.ca].

Cheers,
J

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Make your Home a Healthy Home
Posted by: la_veronique ()
Date: August 25, 2006 10:13PM

neat smiling smiley

Posted by: Suzie ()
Date: August 26, 2006 02:24PM

Something I've been doing for 13 years is taking off my tennis shoes and putting them on a shoe rack in my garage when I come home.

Here's part of an article I found explaining it:

Roberts believes the high toxicity of dust in homes is partly due to the types of particles we drag in on our shoes. Small particles, those measuring just 2O thousandths of a millimetre across, are more likely to stick to our shoes, and since small particles have a relatively large surface area, they are more toxic than larger particles.

"It's the best explanation I have," he says. "We know that people who don't take their shoes off, or don't use a door mat, have much higher levels of toxins in their homes." Lead contamination is a case in point. Studies have found that dust in people's homes can contain levels of lead 10 times as high as the soil in their back yards. Although there is no good evidence that the toxins in dust are a serious threat to our health, some scientists are convinced dust is at least one route by which we are exposed.

[www.guardian.co.uk]

Date: August 26, 2006 03:10PM