Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw in cold weather (AB, CA)?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: October 02, 2010 11:10PM

Hello,

I am new to raw food and making the transition. I am mostly raw, but will do better when I can get groceries.

Anyways, I am wondering how to do raw in cold weather. I see alot of people mention fruits and stuff.. but realistically that is more for a hot weather climate. In Edmonton, Ab we don't have any local fruits (cept maybe apples) when the weather gets cold.( and by that I mean local fruits that haven't been transported and losing essential minerals and vitamins for the week long or plus trek from California) So what do you recommend?

I have been contemplating sprouting, because it's live and I can do it indoors despite weather.

Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw in cold weather (AB, CA)?
Posted by: Horsea ()
Date: October 03, 2010 03:21AM

I live on the Prairies, too, and though I have tried two times, I can't do 100% raw in winter. Even in summer, I like a bit of cooked food. But you may be different. Best of luck.

Even as a child, I was not awfully strong. I am better now (no major issues) but still not tough enough to tolerate lots of raw in winter. I have outdoor chores to do, etc. Doesn't matter if it goes to 25 below, they still need to be done. There is no way I can be in such cold for an hour at a time, warmly-dressed as I may be, then come in and eat all raw food. I need hot cooked beans or potatoes or something. However, summer is quite another matter.

Posted by: loeve ()
Date: October 03, 2010 09:06AM