Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Anemic and Raw
Posted by: emmylou ()
Date: September 12, 2006 11:08AM

Hello All, this is my first time here to post, I Love reading here. I was hoping someone could suggest something that would help my Anemia. I recently went with Raw about 3 months ago, which I am loving. Unfortantley, I went to the doc for my yearly and found out I am severly anemic. I am sure I was anemic before I went to Raw lifestyle of eating but now I want to make sure I get enough iron and absorb it all ..Any suggestions? I am currently now taking Floradix, but too soon to check my Blood Iron to see if it is helping! I don't want to eat any meat and am tolerating a few eggs!

Thanks, Emmylou

Options: ReplyQuote
Watermelon - any thing red
Posted by: Piano Gal ()
Date: September 12, 2006 01:09PM

Re: Anemic and Raw
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: September 12, 2006 01:41PM

Use the nutrient search tool at [www.nutritiondata.com] and search on the vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds highest in iron and eat a lot of those. One caveat is that the goosefoot family members (spinach, chard, purslane, beet greens) are high in iron but the iron is bound up by oxalic acids and so will not be very available.

Lettuces and cruciferous leaves will have lots of available iron per kcal but you have to eat a lot of them to get a lot of iron out of them.

We have all these useful tools online now so there is no excuse.

It's completely unnecessary and also mean to eat animals to maintain adequate iron status.

Posted by: emmylou ()
Date: September 12, 2006 02:38PM