Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Gum Recession
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: October 05, 2006 07:21PM

I am 20 years old and currently 75% raw. I feel great, but recently I have been experienceing gum recession! What should I do and/or eat to remedy this?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Gum Recession
Date: October 06, 2006 11:24AM

I used to be a dental nurse and the main cause for gum recession is brushing you teeth too hard. If this is the case you may notice that it is worse in some arrears of the mouth. For example a lot of people have gum recession to the left of their top teeth, especially if they are right handed as this is where they start brushing their teeth and brush the hardest. If this is the case for you, use the softest brush you can find and be more mindful when brushing your teeth. Do not be scared of brushing your gums though! as plaque is the main cause of gum disease and so gum recession – do your gums bleed if so then you will need to deal with your gum disease?

If it is more general your diet may be lacking something. I know that eating green leafy veg is a great way of strengthening your teeth David Woolfe is always going on about it’s benefits for teeth. I have noticed that after eating fruit eating green leafy veg neutralises the acid. It also has a lot of calcium and works from the inside out if you like – strengthening the teeth and gums from within.

Posted by: jono ()
Date: October 06, 2006 02:05PM

75%guy,

how often do you floss your teeth?

a dental hygienist once told me that flossing was more important than brushing.

Posted by: mimi ()
Date: October 06, 2006 02:47PM

dental hygienist once told me that flossing was more important than brushing.