Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

running and raw food diet.
Posted by: andydufrane ()
Date: February 23, 2012 03:34AM

i have been running for about 3 years now and over those years ate junk and assumed that high protein was the way to go. in dec 2011 i started having headaches...constant headaches along with frquent nosebleeds. 2 weeks later they finally stop but i begin to think it was the junk i was eating making me ill. i just recently began a raw food diet and was wondering if its ok to keep running long distances and if its safe. (i usually run 10 miles every other day)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: running and raw food diet.
Posted by: WheatgrassYogi ()
Date: February 23, 2012 05:07AM

andydufrane Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> ......and was wondering if its ok to keep running long distances and if its safe.

Running long distances is very hard on a human body. You must pay for it later in life, no matter what your diet. I would opt for shorter distances...say 5K......WY

Posted by: flipperjan ()
Date: February 23, 2012 10:18AM

I must respectfully disagree with WY smiling smiley

I am a long distance runner and would like to reassure you that it's absolutely fine to keep running those distances.

I would like to add that it does depend on the type of running that you do and here I will agree with WY that if you like to RACE or do endless interval training frequently over any distance you will put a big strain on your body.