Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

"heating" raw food without harming enzymes
Posted by: Johlysid ()
Date: October 26, 2012 02:03AM

Hi,

I am somewhat new to raw food. I've heard that it is ok to low heat some raw food seeing as only beyond 105 or something like that kills enzymes. The reason I care is because I don't like cold soup or totally raw sprouts.

Does anyone have any comment on this?

Is time a factor (ie will leaving the food in at 105 for too long actually kill enzymes)?

Does the temperature actually have to be over 105 because the food will usually be a lower temp as the oven or whatever?

Also is there a way to cook rice and other sprouts in the oven at low heat over a long time specifically to soften them up(how about a change in water ratios?)?

I'm getting a little frustrated with this because my old oven only tracks times above 200 so I guess I have to do some temp taking etc. I just made some soup and after stirring the temp was 101 something and it tasted fine.

Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: "heating" raw food without harming enzymes
Posted by: Prana ()
Date: October 26, 2012 03:19AM

If you heat some food to 105 it ought to be fine. However, the less heat you apply, and the shorter the duration, the better.

The hotter the temperature in the oven, the quicker the food's temperature will rise. If the minimum temperature in your oven is 200, perhaps leave the door cracked a little, and just keep the food in the over long enough so you can still handle the food with your bare hands without any discomfort. If the food burns your hands, odds are you've cooked the food too much,