Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Does the 80/10/10 give an adequate fat intake?
Posted by: Sebert ()
Date: May 18, 2013 02:21AM

Hi, this is my first post here on the forums. I'm new to the raw food world and recently read the 80/10/10 book by Doug Graham, which to me is very convincing on many levels. I still, however remain skeptical about the amount of fat he recommends because I hear conflicting views around the raw food community as to what is the optimal amount of fat you should be getting. So my question is, what is your experience with fat intake, do you feel better with more/less ect.?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Does the 80/10/10 give an adequate fat intake?
Posted by: Panchito ()
Date: May 18, 2013 10:44AM

That fat specific ratio makes you skinny long term if everything is in place. But it depends. For example, if you suffered from food absorption problems and you were super skinny, it could help you gain weight. If your hormones were missing something, it could make you gain weight. If there are sugar metabolism problems, it could make you gain weight. David Wolf recommends 33% fat but that seems high for him and he does not look good (long term). Your truth could be somewhere in between. It is easy to fix by eating avocados (omaga 6), walnuts (omega 3), etc. Some people need more protein. Many hormones are amino derived (from diet protein) or lipid derived (from fat). So lowering protein or fat to 10% could affect hormones. Just about all metabolic enzymes are proteins. So a low protein diet could affect those two. It has many advantages but also some weaknesses (my opinion).

For more hormone info look here:

[en.wikipedia.org]