Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

excessive weight loss on raw food diet
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: December 13, 2006 12:48AM

My son recently switched from a vegan diet to raw foods. He claims he feels great and has a lot of energy. He is 6 feet tall and went down to about 125 pounds. Is this typical? He says that he will start putting back the weight at some point, but I'm concerned that he may be putting himself at risk of heart or liver problems if he stays at such a low weight for a long time. Any ideas? Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: excessive weight loss on raw food diet
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: December 13, 2006 07:46AM

I am fairly new to raw food but from the research I have done, That sounds pretty normal. Look at www.rawfitnessbootcamp.com I was just reading an article fruitarian one wrote about this.

*defers to more experienced raw fooders*

Posted by: trinity082482 ()
Date: December 13, 2006 03:48PM

125 lbs for a guy who is 6ft is too skinny, but it probably is because he is eating healthy. Maybe convince him to eat larger portions to double his calorie intake. Your son weighs less than me lol. im 5'6 and im a girl =P

Date: December 13, 2006 04:00PM

What's the obsession about how much someone weighs...if he feels good and is happy then don't try to fix something that ain't broke especially if you don't know anything about the transitioning process....

I think your making more of a fuss than he is!

juss ma 2 cents!

Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: December 15, 2006 08:50PM

The only way to build muscle ( and I am assuming he doesn't want to gain his weight in fat) is to exercise, to put a load on the muscles is that great than its current capacity.

Posted by: ryandvan ()