Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Nuts, seeds and avocados?
Posted by: Kiwibird ()
Date: January 07, 2015 12:17AM

I have been transitioning to raw since July 2014. I was a vegetarian for 15 years before that, so it wasn't as big of a shock to the system. However, after going raw, I've found I have really been craving fatty foods like nuts, seeds and avocados despite eating a whole lot of greens and fruit. I've actually gained about 10 pounds since going rawconfused smiley. Guessing that has to do with all the fatty foods. Wondering what is an acceptable amount of fattier foods to eat? A handful a day? 2? Eat as much as I want? lol. I have been eating 3 or 4 handfuls of nuts/seeds a day or 2 avocados and a handful of nuts. I'm a 26 y/o woman, 5'6 and right now I'm about 130lbs. I was about 115-120 for years and years before that. I'm guessing thats a bit too much fat and kind of concerned about gaining weight. I've never been this high of a weight before. Any insight? Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Nuts, seeds and avocados?
Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: January 07, 2015 01:39AM

2 avocados a day or 2 handfuls of nuts doesn't seem too excessive to me. Do you exercise?

Posted by: arugula ()
Date: January 07, 2015 02:40AM

I've been watching Dr. Greger's videos and at this point I am convinced that low fat is better than moderate fat and that moderate is better than high. Dr. Rick Dina is also very good explaining fats. Greger is from the perspective of a whole-foods plant-based diet (vegan is usually implied, raw and cooked) and Dina is a raw vegan.

Dr. Dina
[www.youtube.com]

Just because they are raw does not mean they will not clog your arteries.