Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Sprouted wheat and gluten
Posted by: rawigor ()
Date: February 26, 2015 05:34AM

Can someone clarify?
I know from varity of sources that gluten is one of the worst things to be consumed. I also know from variety of different sources that sprouted grains, esspecially sprouted wheat, is very beneficial. Even Jesus advised eating it. I have been making raw bread from sprouted wheat for the past 6 months and have not noticed any negative effects. On the contrary, if I don't eat sprouted grains for eextended period of time, I start feeling hungry, no matter how much of salads, or nuts I may eat. Am I doing someting wrong being a raw food beginner?

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Sprouted wheat and gluten
Posted by: coconutcream ()
Date: February 26, 2015 07:19AM

Me too I am sprouting it right now. I mix with banana and then dehydrate

Posted by: suncloud ()
Date: February 26, 2015 09:28AM

There is gluten in sprouted wheat, but that shouldn't cause problems unless:

1. You have celiac disease, or
2. You have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or
3. You are allergic to wheat

1. Celiac disease is genetic and occurs when the gluten protein in wheat, rye, and barley triggers an autoimmune response against the villi in the lining of your intestines. You can be tested for this. In fact, for an accurate result, you MUST be tested BEFORE going gluten-free. If you suspect celiac or are just worried about it, get tested. If positive, tell your relatives, so they can be tested too (since it's genetic). Symptoms may or may not be evident.

2. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity causes a range of uncomfortable symptoms after eating gluten. There is no test.