Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Hello! i am new to raw foodism, and was wondering if I can get tips...
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 25, 2007 04:51PM

I am a recovering anorexic that has been vegan for animal rights purposes for years. i decided that now, rather than "thinness" I would like to pursue global and personal "health" through the raw foods diet. How ever, I need to convince the doctors that this diet is complettely sufficiant- and I would like to know a food pyaramid or percentages of types of foods most raw fooders follow. I am ready to begin my journy to freedom ^_^

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Hello! i am new to raw foodism, and was wondering if I can get tips...
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: March 25, 2007 08:55PM

Opinion:

-There is no hard and fast rule - nor is the ONE guru or book.....nor is there one style of eating. My recommendation for beginners/transitioners is always to start at a level they are VERY comfortable with....and slowly stretch from there....increasing speed as they feel comfortable.

-As to WHAT to eat, I often recommend eating a WIDE variety of fruits and vegetables......and just to incorporate more of these into the diet on a consistent weekly basis....again, increasing speed as comfort warrants.

-There are many online sites (which I'm sure the wonderful folks on this board can highlight) like www.fitday.com and the nutrient database at

[www.nal.usda.gov]

-There are other sites that help easily compute how many calories a person needs to maintain body weight.

-These sites will give you good insight as to whether you are getting enough calories / nutrients / etc....based on recommendations for body type, weight and age.