Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

On the topic of "low-fat.."
Posted by: noelle ()
Date: March 29, 2007 06:21PM

WHA????

Isn't raw food low fat, already?!?

I'm really new to this and still not all raw, eating whole grains and beans and not planning to give it up until I understand this stuff better. Anyway, I'm drawn to avacados like a mad-woman who functions off avacados because I feel like there is practically no fat in my diet. Plus they taste amazing.

Am I missing something?!

Questions! What raw foods are high in fat (aside from mentioned avacados...and yummy, yummy coconuts..oh and nuts...okay, I see where this is going...)? Are there fruits and veggies that I wouldn't know are high in fat? And what are the health benefits of lowering fat intake?

Do any of you think that low-fat is a bad raw-thing?

Thanks to you all, my lovely, lovely teachers. smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: On the topic of "low-fat.."
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: March 29, 2007 06:31PM

-I think reasonable fat is a good thing. Just so long as YOU are consciously setting a level that YOU feel is reasonable....and are very comfortable with it. Especially in the beginning, I would not overly deprive yourself of raw fats....unless you are also trying to bring your weight under control.....in which case 10-20% fat sounds like a very generally reasonable number to me. winking smiley

-David Z. Mason

Date: March 29, 2007 06:35PM

Hey thanks! I actually would, ideally, gain some weight. smiling smiley

Raw foods helped me lose a few extra pounds, then helped me lose more-- pounds that I had wished to keep! I liked them where they were.