Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw Food Budgets
Posted by: CherryBlossom ()
Date: May 17, 2007 01:18AM

Hello All! I am a newbie and am wondering about what your monthly raw food budgets are alike?

I am into my second week of raw (with some minor lapses) and am finding it a little challenging to shop for raw and not have astronomical foods costs. I have spent about $20 dollars a day on organic fruits and veggies and a few nuts here and there.

I would like to spend no more than $100 a week on food.

Is this possible on organic? I am also a little confused and not sure what I can eat..(therefore the lapses). Is Couscous raw if I don't put in boiling water but soak it in warm water instead?

Thanks for any advice!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw Food Budgets
Posted by: zenpawn ()
Date: May 17, 2007 01:54AM

I reckon that's about how much I spend, up to, say, $125, in two to three visits a week. Only my daily staples and some of the more pesticide-laden produce do I purchase organic. You can find various "dirty dozen" or top-ten lists on the web. Here is one from the Environmental Working Group: [www.care2.com]

-Erin
Raw Done Light
dogma-free RAW
Gazpacho For The Soul

Posted by: alicenubby ()
Date: May 17, 2007 02:13AM

welcome Cherryblossom. being a wannabe 100% raw foodist is taking me to the poor house FO SHO.i spend about the same. maybe sometimes more.

Posted by: CherryBlossom ()
Date: May 17, 2007 02:38AM