Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

raw beans
Posted by: sleepingstar ()
Date: June 04, 2007 02:14PM

I cant seem to find any info on the dried beans you get in the store. are they raw? if not where can I get raw beans and nuts

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: raw beans
Date: June 05, 2007 05:10PM

please help... why is it so hard for me to get my questions answered. im very new to this and im sorry if its a dumb question

Posted by: Inaia ()
Date: June 05, 2007 05:28PM

dried beans are raw. Lots of people are against ingesting them. Others are all for soaking &/or sprouting them & eating them. I like garbanzos & lentils every so ofter. I soak them overnight and sprout them for a couple days.

Hope this helps.

www.inaia.com

Posted by: life101 ()
Date: June 05, 2007 05:37PM

SS, It takes awhile sometimes to get an answer. Most people are busy at work (which I should be doing) during the day. Dried beans unless they state they are "organic" are not organic. I've never bought dried beans that sprouted so I think one has to buy beans specifically for sprouting. According to one article, "Dry beans come from plants that have completed their growth and produced hard, dry seeds inside their pods. When mature, the beans are packed with protein." [www.gardenguides.com] Another article states that some beans have a small moisture content and then are further dried. It does not state at what temperature they are dried. [www.jeffersoninstitute.org]

If all you have are regular dried beans, I wouldn't worry too much. You can soak the beans in water and then do whatever. The regular dried beans that I've bought do have the raw dried bean taste so I go with that.

Good luck.
Therese

Posted by: anuiyer7 ()
Date: June 05, 2007 06:21PM