Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Diabetes help?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 06, 2007 12:55AM

I am new to raw fooding and I have diabetes. I am finding that my blood sugars are soaring after some meals and I am worried about the safety of raw fooding and diabetes. Is there anyone out there who has cured/controlled their diabetes with raw food and if so, what do you eat? Do you still take diabetic medication? How long did it take to get normal blood sugars if at all. Basically, I am asking if this is safe, and should I continue. Thanks.

sueko

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Diabetes help?
Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: June 06, 2007 01:21AM

type 1 or 2? smiling smiley

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist

Posted by: jono ()
Date: June 06, 2007 01:32AM

I never had diagnosed diabetes, but I suspect I was pre-diabetic due to the boatloads of sugar I ate as a child.

There is mounting evidence that a low-carb diet can cure diabetes.

The idea is to replace carbs with healthy fats so there are no more insulin spikes or sugar lows. The body adapts and blood-sugar becomes more stable through the process of gluconeogenesis - the production of sugar from proteins in the liver.

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 06, 2007 01:59AM

Jodi -- I have type 2, for approximately 15 years, now on oral meds. Long story short: Was on insulin for a while, doc took me off insulin and started me on Byetta. I threw up all the time and quit it. Now the med I'm on has been linked to cardiac disease. I've had it with the medical/chemical system, hence my presence here!