Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

I can't stop eating fat!
Posted by: happyvegan ()
Date: June 07, 2007 12:07AM

I'm new to this raw thing, I guess I started 6 weeks or so ago with 80-100% raw every day, but it was easy to eat a bunch of salads and stuff because to be honest, it felt temporary. But the better I felt, and the more weight I lost (15 lbs the first 5 weeks), the more I felt like I wasn't going to be able to go back to eating cooked vegan (I've been one for almost 7 years). Which was fine in theory, but I went into panic mode, the whole "I'll never be able to eat all these cooked things again!" thing. Now I'm taking it one day at a time, and if it lasts forever that's okay.

But, now that it feels not-so-temporary, it's like I have to prove to myself that I can still have rich, delicious foods. Things like tahini cheese, date-nut candy, dried wakame (great for my salty cravings) and other fat or salt foods. I make a fruit pie (date-nut crust with blended fruit topping) for me and my kids to share for dinner every night. I could easily eat 1/3 jar of homemade tahini cheese every day (which I eat with huge plates of carrots, celery, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, etc). I'm definitely still eating lots of fresh fruits and veggies, but not as much as I was when I first started on raw foods.