Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Is it possible to be allergic to Raw foods?
Date: June 19, 2007 08:37PM

My reason for asking is because I'm thinking that all the signs that I'm having is the detox stages. But as I've been reading and reading and reading more and more about how people are allergic to raw foods..... is that possible? I know that all raw living green foods are good for you, so it can't be, right? I'm new to eating raw since the 1st of this month. I'm 75% raw (only one small meal is cooked a day). I became a Vegan 4/24/07, and I stopped smoking, drinking soda, coffee and tea in December 2006.

My symptoms are sore throat, stuffy nose, phlegmy, coughing, headache, and brittle nails.

I did notice some improvments, like no more backaches, hardly anymore hair loss, and clearer vision.

But I'm really tired of everyone saying, "You're still sick? It's that diet you're on!" I am really stuffy and phlegmy!!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Is it possible to be allergic to Raw foods?
Posted by: life101 ()
Date: June 19, 2007 10:53PM

Dee, You're going through detox. A cold/flu is mother nature's way of ridding the body of mucus which was caused by cooked food, etc. You can take MSM to help with the brittle nails. I think horsetail tea is supposed to help, too. When I first became raw, I was sick 2 weeks straight. I got sick again a few more times that year, too. I knew it was the body eliminating mucus.