Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Getting Started
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 09, 2007 07:08PM

Hello all!

I couldn't find the best place to post this. I have just decided to go raw. I will be slowly getting into it so I don't end up backing out if I jump right in.
I will be doing some shopping this weekend. But I think I need to have a few appliances first. Could someone list for me the things I will be needing? Keeping in mind I am just starting on this. I'm also a part time student and work full time. So money is a factor. What suggestions do you have that I should get this weekend for starters? Oh and if there is anyone in the North Dallas, Texas area that has an appliance they'd like to sell that would help also.

Thanks soooo much!!
Stacy

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Getting Started
Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: August 09, 2007 07:20PM

you dont really need anything at all really but i know i started off wiht a

blender so i could make smoothies (try and get one that can at least pulse ice)

then a juicer for juicing , ideally a greenstar or something along that line but if all you can afford is a 40$ juicer then its good enough to get you started before investing in a $200-400 machine

then a dehydrator for making fancy stuff

maybe budget 1 small appliance per month smiling smiley

some good knives will be beneficial for sure ifyou dont have already

oh...

and a small army of tupperwear tongue sticking out smiley

try looking/posting on craigslist in your area under the freebie section or FREECYCLE in your area for freebies

ive gotten alot of things for free at both places

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist

Posted by: dewey ()
Date: August 09, 2007 07:21PM