Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Reasons for high raw versus 100%
Posted by: islandgirl ()
Date: August 13, 2007 03:52PM

Since I'm just a newbie at raw (10 weeks), I'm still learning. I know a number of you on here consider yourself "high raw" while others aim at 100%. I'm still trying to figure out what is best for me and what will work for me.
I am wondering a number of things....

1. Why are you high raw and what exactly does that mean? Is it a deliberate choice that you are making or what you are settling for because you fail at 100%? Is it giving into cooked foods or simply a lifestyle you can live with?

2. Do you feel differently (better / worse, etc. ) eating high raw versus 100%?

3. What types of food items do you allow yourself on a high raw diet that would be considered non-raw?

Just trying to gather info as to the whats and whys of this lifestyle. I know everyone is different...with different reasonings and motivations, but I think getting your input will be helpful.Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Reasons for high raw versus 100%
Posted by: dewey ()
Date: August 13, 2007 05:11PM

hi island girl...being a newbie as well i don`t know if my response will help or not but....
1. to me high raw is a high percentage of my diet coming from raw foods. for me being high raw is a result of many factors. sometimes it is deliberate and sometimes it is a "slip".for me it usually consists of giving into peanut butter which is organic and only consists of peanuts and salt but is still processed i suppose, cooked broccoli, cooked corn on the cob, hemp bread, white rice and sashimi. the latter happens once or twice a month but i won`t elaborate on the reasons since this is a vegan board and i don`t want to offend anyone.