Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Living Raw n Organic is good but is it affordable?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: September 05, 2007 06:44PM

I'm a student journalist working on an article in concern with the economic realities of affordable organic food, raw life style in Urban cities particularly Central Los Angles and I would be interested in your feedback. Thank you for your time.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Living Raw n Organic is good but is it affordable?
Posted by: jono ()
Date: September 05, 2007 06:56PM

In depends upon your perspective.

By eating a balanced raw diet you may avoid doctors fees and the cost of dealing with chronic illness down the road.

Also, with some clever purchasing, eating raw does not need to be extremely expensive. You can buy fresh produce in bulk from a local produce wholesaler or coop. You can buy bulk nuts and seeds online direct from farmers or wholesalers. The problem is most people don't have the initiative or the wherewithal to do these things.

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: September 05, 2007 07:25PM

Opinion:

Here's an article from Mayoclinic.com

[www.mayoclinic.com]

-My understanding is that the jury is still out on whether organic foods are healthier or safer. They are certainly more expensive. Often 2-3 times as expensive (or more). Often, many raw food varieties are simply not available organically....even in more metropolitan markets....and this limits a new persons availablility of a wide variety of fresh, raw foods.