Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

"living enzymes"?
Posted by: gsw75 ()
Date: September 11, 2007 12:08AM

I am new to this idea of Raw Foods and I am trying to find out more information on it. One of the things I was wondering is what are the living enzymes? Since enzymes are really just a type of protein do they have any specific names for these living enzymes? I have taken some courses in Health and it seems that most all dietary proteins have been discovered and named, but I am not sure which ones are being talked about when the words "living enzymes" are used in context of the ones that are destroyed with heating but that are also essential to our bodies. Could someone please help me out with this?

On that same train of thought…one of the main arguments for eating raw is that there are enzymes in the food that we eat that are "necessary" for proper digestion. According to the raw theory these enzymes are denatured when heated to a temperature above 116 degrees fahrenheit. Aren't these same enzymes also denatured in the stomach's acidic environment? From what I have read they are and therefore are no longer beneficial as functional enzymes. Once in the small intestine, peptidases, the body's enzymes for breaking down proteins, including enzymes, cuts these denatured enzymes up into smaller pieces for absorption by intestinal epithelial cells. Therefore, it seems to me that this theory of "living enzymes" helping in digestion is misleading. If I am wrong, please respond to this message and tell me where I can find the evidence to prove the theory of "living enzymes" in raw food, and their actual benefit to the diet.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: "living enzymes"?
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: September 11, 2007 12:26AM