Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: Flaxseed Oil vs. Flax Seeds
Posted by: anaken ()
Date: September 15, 2007 04:47PM

great posts Lee!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: September 15, 2007 04:52PM

bracken,

As you get advice from people here, please do not use this to beat yourself up. I've been eating raw now for over 6 years, and at 100% raw for over 5 and a half years. When I first started raw, I was eating 80% fat. I did this for 10 months, and then I heard Doug Graham speak. At the time, I had no idea how much fat I was eating, because I only knew the relative volume of fat, and to me I thought my fat intake was low (volume wise, it was probably 5 percent of the volume of the food I ate). So after hearing Doug speak, I measured my fat intake using fitday, and discovered it was 80% or higher.

So I lowered my fat intake to 10%. At first, I could do it, but it felt like I really was exerting a lot of control to do this. I did the control thing for a few months, and then I realized I wasn't happy living with that much control. So I let up on the control, and let my fat intake go up to 20%, and life got much easier. 2 years after that, I found my desires for fat just melted away without me doing anything about it, and I found my fat intake to be under 10%. And now, years later, I spend much of the year eating at a level of 5%.

So when I started, 10% was too hard for me, given my internal desires and preferences for food and fat. However, it was easy to not be 80%. And in fact, 20% was quite doable for me.