Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
How are you getting your protein? (and zinc and niacin?)
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: September 12, 2007 11:15PM

Hello everyone. I am new to raw foods -- I've been doing it 100% for about a week. I've been vegetarian for a year, and pretty much vegan for a few months before going raw (and consequently 100% vegan).

I am a little concerned about protein intake. I have read all the studies (The China Study, etc.) that say that (1) animal protein is bad, and (2) we need a lot less protein than the USDA believes, so I realize that there is some convincing evidence that I may be getting all the protein I need on what I'm eating now. However, in order to make sure I'm getting protein, I find myself turning to nuts and seeds, and am alarmed by the amount of fat (including gross amounts of saturated fat) that I'm consuming as a result. I've been tracking my nutritive intake on fitday.com (which I highly recommend to everyone) -- yesterday alone I had 111 grams of fat, including 17 grams of saturated fat. This is almost entirely from nuts.

This won't do. But I'm an athlete and need protein. I know all vegetables have some protein, but those grams just don't seem to add up to anything close to the recommended range (50 or so per day for me, at the very least), without also adding some concentrated protein sources. So I'd like to know what good sources of protein people rely on that are not also extremely fatty. I note that a cup of oats and a cup of peas both have 8 grams of protein, so that's great.

What else?