Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

what to eat feeling sick
Posted by: veggieluv ()
Date: September 17, 2007 10:39AM

Hi, I'm new to eating raw. I've been about 100% raw for about 2 weeks now. My problem is I feel ill if I eat too many veggies especially onion or garlic. I made a guacamole and it gave me a stomachache for two days. I've been eating a lot of dates, green smoothies and salads with lettuce and spinach. I don't know how to get more veggies in, many of the recipes I've tried I've ended up throwing out. Please help because I need to get more calories in without eating too much fat! thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: what to eat feeling sick
Posted by: rawnoggin ()
Date: September 17, 2007 01:03PM

hi veggieluv!

certain fruits have a lot of calories- melons, pineapple, banana etc that you can use for bumping up your calorie intake. What veggies is it that you are trying to get in that are giving you problems? Some veg tastes better on its own (carrots, cucumber, peppers etc) cut into strips and served with a raw dip rather than mixed with a tonne of other stuff.

I've gone off onions a bit. I only use spring onion these days (scallions). I've really gone off dressy raw foods too. Eating simply never seems to upset my belly, whereas recipes that have 10 ingredients etc sometimes do!

Posted by: fresh ()
Date: September 17, 2007 01:11PM

veggieluv Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Hi, I'm new to eating raw. I've been about 100%
> raw for about 2 weeks now. My problem is I feel
> ill if I eat too many veggies especially onion or
> garlic.

good suggestions from rawnoggin, plus onions and garlic are extremely irritating so the fact that you had a problem is perfect. listen to the body.