Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Okinawan Longevity
Posted by: baltochef ()
Date: October 25, 2007 04:02PM

Greetings!

In addition to attempting to be raw, I am also a photographer..

I currently shoot 35mm B & W film, as well as digital with my Pentax MX & K10D cameras..

In the immediate future I hope to begin shooting with a Pentax 67II medium format camera..

In my continuing research into the world of the Pentax 6x7 system, I happened upon this link by the photographer Chris Wilson..

He is an Englishman, living & working in Japan on the island of Okinawa..

The piece is titled, The Okinawan Elixr..

It refers to the reasons so many native Okinawans live to be in their 80's, 90's, & 100's..

While not specifically vegan, or even raw vegan; there is some wisdom to be gained within the article..

I hope others enjoy the piece as much as I did..

Bruce

[www.travel67.com]

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Okinawan Longevity
Posted by: karennd ()
Date: October 25, 2007 04:19PM

That link has a slight misspelling.

Here is the correct one [www.travel67.com].

Very interesting. Thanks.

Posted by: sunshine79 ()
Date: October 25, 2007 05:16PM

Neat!

I read the book The Okinawa Program when it first came out, I liked it alot.

I think the major problem of Western diets is sugar and processed foods, not cooking. Although raw is better than cooked, I think people could acheive stellar health just by switching to a whole diet first - and THEN go raw. No sugar, as sugar depletes nutrients - when we eat sugar, we're worse off than if we were just hungry. Dessert is not part of the typical Okinawan diet.