Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

vegan vs. raw food vs. macrobiotic
Posted by: gimpyq ()
Date: November 24, 2007 11:56AM

Hello, I'm new to the wonderful world of raw food. 3 weeks without meat and day-by-day reduction in my reliance of cooked foods is leaving me feeling unbelievable! In an effort to educate myself I've been reading everything I can get my hands on. However a book about Macrobiotic diets frowns on some foods which I thought would be excellent; things such as avocados and citrus fruit. I am curious what other people's thoughts are about such exclusions?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: vegan vs. raw food vs. macrobiotic
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: November 24, 2007 01:41PM

I have not read the Macrobiotic books. Why exclude them? Do YOU feel they are bad?

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 24, 2007 04:39PM

macrobiotics focusses on eating locally so if oranges and avos grown near you, go ahead. if not, eat something that does. i agree in part, we lighten our foot print avoiding consumption of things that have to burn a lot of gas to get to us.

Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: November 24, 2007 07:14PM

Macrobiotics is more about eating a traditional japanese cooked diet based on steamed rice and cooked vegetables. A healthy raw diet (and watch out for high fat junk food raw diets) is going to be way healthier than macrobiotics.

Posted by: arugula ()
Date: November 24, 2007 11:54PM

I agree with Bryan. A balanced raw diet will be much more potent in cancer-fighting and anti-aging. Cooked vegetables provide some protection but raw ones even more.

Date: November 25, 2007 12:25AM