Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Combining food?
Posted by: mira ()
Date: February 07, 2008 02:22AM

Im quite new to all this raw food living style... Ive read that its very important to combine correctly the food to be healthy and all...
What are these combinations exactly?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Combining food?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 07, 2008 02:47AM

oh, that's a huge topic. you can google that for a ton of info. really, a ton. there are charts and books and wallet sized cards etc etc etc. youll be reading for days!

some people feel the need to food combine tapers off the longer you are raw, as your digestive strength grows. i think it's still a burden on the body to eat wacky combinations and that being able to "handle" it doesn't mean that it's not having a negative affect somewhere.
it's up to you though, as you go along you'll see what makes you feel best.

Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: February 07, 2008 02:52AM

Is this similiar to the protein combining myth from the 1960s? Or something different?

I don't feel a need to combine anything; I think our bodies have the ability to "combine" something eaten 2 hours ago w/ another nutrient, if needed, from a food eaten 3 min. ago.

Date: February 07, 2008 03:00AM

no, it's about optimum digestion, not about getting nutrients in the right combo. like sweet fruit doesn't mix with acids, etc. it's real, more real for some than for others but definitely not a myth.

Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: February 07, 2008 03:28AM

Oh, I see. Thanks.

Posted by: shaine ()
Date: February 07, 2008 05:03AM