Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

lots of questions
Posted by: tea937 ()
Date: February 17, 2008 06:42AM

Hi everyone!!!!

I'm new to raw foods and I am still learning soo much about everything involved with this lifestyle. I find this community to be fascinating and so helpful to each other

I do have a few questions though...
I am a huge tea fan, I drink tons of tea, not the bagged stuff but the fresh tea leaves kind of stuff. Can I still drink tea on this diet? and also, can I sweeten it with sugar or honey and still be raw? Tea seems to calm the symptoms of my autoimmune disease. I especially like red and white teas because they have more antioxidants than most other teas and they are also less caffeinated.

Also, for anyone out there who has quite a few doctors who put you on many medications, should I let my doctors know that I am starting this diet? Should I stop taking my medications? How should I approach this new lifestyle when talking to them? I have a feeling that they may not like the idea of starting this, but I need something that will make me feel better and the medications definitely aren't.

Thank you so much in advance for reading all of that, and I'm sorry for so many questions, but if you can answer one, that would be great!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: lots of questions
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: February 17, 2008 11:52AM

If instead of telling your doctors you are about to embark on an all raw vegan diet you emphasize that you will be incorporating more raw fruitsm vegetables, nuts, and seeds because they reduce cancer risks, improve antioxidant status, etc. you might get a better reception.

I don't have a problem with tea, a cup of tea is about 2 kcal which would be maybe