Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw Groumet/nut allergy!
Posted by: cocoa_nibs ()
Date: February 25, 2008 10:05PM

Hi Guys, we are having friends over next weekend and want to treat them to a raw feast. One of our guests has a horrible nut allergy. I am looking for recipes - SIMPLE ones, cuz I am new to this, for a full meal. I have a dehydrator and a food processor.

Know of any good recipes that circumvent the nuts? Anything that can be substituted for nuts?

Thanks much for any recipes, pointers or ressources!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw Groumet/nut allergy!
Posted by: MauiGreg ()
Date: February 25, 2008 11:47PM

Is your guest alergic to seeds too? ...like pumpkin, sunflower and flax?

If not, those can be good subs. i've made some pretty delish sauces with sunny seeds.

Aloha Nui Loa,

Greg

A great many people think they are thinking when they are really rearranging their prejudices. - William James

There is no pill that can be swallowed,
There is no guru, that can be followed, - Michael Franti (Pray For Grace)

The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion. - Albert Camus

Posted by: Witarianin ()
Date: February 26, 2008 01:55AM

Well, Preparing meal for a not very healthy=allergic person is ALWAYS a challenge,

1. It would be serious challenge to anyone especially/even on a SAD diet to "satisfy"/ make a "safe", and delicious meal for one.
So go easy on yourself about "having to" impress your friends.. so you know, that you haven't failed if not everyone will be pleased.

After all: It IS SAFE or sorry.. :-)