Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

disturbing news about cacao
Posted by: flipperjan ()
Date: February 26, 2008 07:50PM

Kris5194 posted on the sunshine heart story and directed folk to a link about the dangers of cacao and I thought it was worth having a discussion about in it's own right.

Go to www.rawlife.com, health articles on the right hand side of page and click on raw chocolate article. I'm very new to raw food issues so I would love to hear other peoples opinions about this article.

I'm sure lots of people will be very upset about the contents of this article not least Shazzie who has written a book all about the joys and wonders of raw chocolate!! (I haven't read that book - maybe she does sound a note of caution)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: disturbing news about cacao
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 26, 2008 08:04PM

there is a ton of discussion on this forum about the pros and cons of cacao. you can find those threads if you do a search, lots of great info there. many people agree that it's not so terrific for you.

Posted by: Simple Living ()
Date: February 26, 2008 08:54PM

I'm new to the raw foods lifestyle, too. My thoughts on cacao are that it will be more of a condiment, to enhance the flavor of certain meals or snacks. I don't want to get in the habit of replacing the junk food in my SAD life with cacao in my raw life.

It's like vegetarians who eat tofurkey instead of turkey. I'll never understand that. If you don't want to eat meat, why find a natural food and disguise it as meat?