Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

b 12 and zinc
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 03, 2008 10:05PM

hey guys, have been raw for a month and learning learning learning. one of the things i read stated that a downside to raw is you don't get enough b12 or zinc in your diet and it would affect your immune system, leading to colds, flu, etc... What do you guys do to supplement that part of your diet. Do you take supplements, are there f/v out there that have them, what do you all suggest. Thanks and hope your having a killer day. Damon

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: b 12 and zinc
Posted by: brenna ()
Date: March 03, 2008 10:16PM

I know a lot of people don't do it, but I supplement and am pretty happy with it. I am pretty new to raw though, from what I've read a lot of people here started off with supplements and then slowly phased them out.
I'm pregnant so I take a prenatal, but before that I only supplemented B12. If you balance your diet you should be able to get enough zinc I believe.
Do what feels best for you. It's easy to find a vegan multi vitamin, obviously it won't be raw though. I generally suggest supplementing until you've fully researched and have a balanced raw diet. I found that in the beginning my meals were not balanced at all and as I'm learning more about raw foods I'm getting much better at that.
I'd recommend putting in everything that you eat on a site like fitday.com or nutritiondata.com for a while to make sure you are getting a balanced diet.

Posted by: MauiGreg ()
Date: March 03, 2008 10:38PM

b12 is the only supplement I take on a regular basis. I'm not dogmatically opposed to the use of supplements if needed.

Aloha Nui Loa,

Greg