Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Cleaning non-organic vegatables & fruits?
Posted by: mira ()
Date: March 04, 2008 09:14PM

I'm a student, so i really dont have alot of money... So sometimes i just cant afford to fill my grocery basket with only organic stuff...

So i would like to know something... I have a raw food book that says to put non-organic vegetables/fruits in the sink, filled with water, and to add a spoonfull of clay... It is supposed to absord the chemicals...

Anybody heard of this?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Cleaning non-organic vegatables & fruits?
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: March 04, 2008 09:28PM

No. But my opinion is also that eating organic is not a 'rite of entry' to derive 99% of the benefit that you WILL gain from allowing a diet of fresh, raw conventional produce to acheive over 12+ months.

-You can always rinse with a very light bleach solution, which should de-activate any organic compounds or critters on the surface....and then rinse with pure water. Just a suggestion.

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Posted by: Simple Living ()
Date: March 04, 2008 09:35PM

mira,

David gave great advice and I learned to take it. My new life with raw foods is more enjoyable because of it. Don't worry about buying all raw. As David also says, "There are no raw food police." Even if you eat only one raw meal a day, even using non-organic raw foods, you'll be improving your health. I promise. There's no rush. Do what you can and have a lot of fun with it!

The one thing I will emphasize about David's advice is this:

-You can always rinse with a VERY LIGHT bleach solution,...