Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

your advice is great, I need some!
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 15, 2008 02:22AM

Hello~

I am new to the raw diet, I am determined to keep this going, however I am having all sorts of questions. I have always been very "health" minded or at least to current levels of my knowledge at what ever time. I have been eating organic food for 3+ years now almost completely, not eating much meat and very little sugar, no white anything (bread, pasta, sugar etc.) I have been eating raw foods now for a week and I am so tired. I have bursts of energy and then I am drained at night. I am hitting the sack way earlier than usual, I have brain fog during the day as well. I am having craving for things I don't even normally eat very much, bread and crackers mainly. Hmmm.......I love raw vegetables and fruit, not a problem, actually enjoying them more this week than I ever have, I can taste them and have many times not prefered the salt or seasonings, so that is good. The rest of my expirience so far is as stated above, tired and foggy. Any words of wisdom?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: your advice is great, I need some!
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: March 15, 2008 02:39AM

It sounds like you aren't getting enough calories. Have you compared your calorie intake before and after you tried raw? Sounds like you might benefit from some cooked starches such as sweet potato for an easier transition. Or if you want to stay raw try adding bananas for more energy, they are pretty concentrated for a fruit, and avocado along with a handful of nuts/seeds/coconut if you need more fat.

Posted by: Lillianswan ()
Date: March 15, 2008 04:34AM