Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Supplement or not?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 16, 2008 07:27PM

Hi Folks,
I am seeking opinions today on whether to still take even just a daily multi vitamin every day.
Do any of you take vitamins,even on a raw diet?
Am I just still caught in the brainwashing of the vitamin companies,and all the mainstream nutrition opinions out there?
Will vitamin pills make me sick if I am totally raw?
I feel like I will become deficient in SOMETHING that my body needs.
But then again,I do feel the raw foods of the Earth will supply everything I need.
I am still very new at this.
smiling smiley
Brian

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Supplement or not?
Posted by: mira ()
Date: March 16, 2008 07:31PM

hi!

well... You are "supposed" to get all your vitamins (and loads more) from a raw diet... Only B12 can be harder to get, but you can find it on unwashed root vegetables (carrots turnips radish) its ok not to wash them if they are organic, cause anyway they dont have perticides, only a little bit of soil, wich contains the precious B12 bacteria...
Since its a bacteria you can find it "on" the fruits, vegatables, sprouts...Seeweed is supposed to have some, but i think we dont really assimilate it well...

Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: March 16, 2008 07:34PM

Hey, Brian. I would at least take a sublingual B-12, such as this (look for methylcobalamin): [www.downbound.com]

----
that's the only one i feel is necessary (and not daily, maybe twice a week)
----

I also take 1/3 of a dose of a multi. I don't have a good reason why. I just do. smiling smiley