Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Starting "Green Smoothie" Club at Middle School - need advice
Posted by: jackie ()
Date: March 27, 2008 06:08AM

I'm a math teacher at a middle school in Lake Worth,FL and I'd like to start an after-school "Green Smoothie" club. My students see me with my stainless thermos of "smoothies" every day, and there may be interest in actually discussing nutrition, leafy greens, and "green smoothies" at the school. I won't know until I set it up and try.

Besides basic nutrition and discussion of vegetarian/vegan/raw food eating, and of course experimenting with different ingredients to make the ultimate green smoothie, what else can I bring to the meetings as topics?

One idea I had was to bring in different leafy greens to show the students (swiss chard, beets with greens attached, spinach - the little plants complete with roots, kale) and then have everyone taste the raw version, and make a chart about what they noticed (salty, chewy, strong vs. mild flavor).

There are questions about being a vegetarian asked weekly in class, so having the students do research and bring their findings to the meeting might be an idea.

What other things can I do to make it interesting and fun for middle schoolers?

Looking for your input!

You can email me directly if you choose, or post here.

Thanks for your time,
Jackie

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Starting "Green Smoothie" Club at Middle School - need advice
Posted by: Grayzie ()
Date: March 27, 2008 06:14AM

middle school is 11-13 year olds - right? I'll think on it and get back to you ...

Posted by: Wheatgrass Yogi ()
Date: March 27, 2008 06:26AM