Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Water Fasting??
Posted by: stylestacey ()
Date: April 06, 2008 06:18PM

I would like to begin a water fast w/ really no completion date to improve my health, I would like my body signals to be what indicates my completion. I have a few questions because I have gotten mixed answers from mixed sources.

1. Should you lightly exercise (i would like to take a mile walk a day) while fasting if you are in general good health? ....I have heard that it helps speed up the detoxification process.

2. Working- should you continue to work while fasting? 3 nights a week I work as a cocktail waitress which requires a good amount of energy (I will not walk on these days) The other 4 days I work from home on the computer which feels like resting to me.

I appreciate any and all help.

thank you in advance! stacey

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Water Fasting??
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 06, 2008 06:29PM

I remember a mention in the book "fit for Life" that during a fast/detox period you should rest as much as possible.I know there are conflicting opinions.

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: April 06, 2008 07:32PM

My experiences:

1) Light exercise is fine...if you feel restless or energetic.
2) Try a water fast over a long weekend first. If you handle it fine, then yes....working (if your job is fairly non-stressful) should be fine.

-Power to you Stacey!

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Date: April 06, 2008 09:01PM

Thanks David!

...other advise I have rcvd is to start with a juice fast then move to water to slow the process of detoxification. Do you recommend this?