Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Juicing & then
Posted by: lorddimples ()
Date: December 23, 2007 08:29PM

I've been juicing for 3 years now & have always discarded the fiber. I rejuice the fiber when it's a bit soggy but have never thought of using it. Primarily since I don't have any recipes for it's use for burger for example.

Well..
I added 16 oz of water in order get more juice but this makes a mess of things. I've put it through a sieve but i have to squeeze it all through to get the water out. It's too much work & i'm not sure if it's worth it. Maybe using a cheesecloth next time.

Any thoughts or experiences.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Juicing & then
Posted by: sewraw ()
Date: December 23, 2007 09:22PM

I don't have a large amount of experience with juicing but the little I have done here is what I have done with some of the pulp:

1) use carrots/peppers/cuke pulp to make raw "burgers" or loaf
2) use fruit pulp in a smoothie
3) freeze fruit pulp and eat as it is as a "sorbet"
4) use fruit pulp to sweeten homemade energy bars (like Lara bars, etc)
5) I also save the carrot pulp (which is rather dry) for my salads

I hope this helps.

Patty

Posted by: Prism ()
Date: December 24, 2007 05:29AM

You can also use the green left over from juicing in your smoothies, as in the green smoothies. If I make a veggie soup I add a couple T of the green pulp also to the soup broth. You can do that with raw soups also, or ones you just warm up to under 118 degrees.