Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

blending protein into smoothies?
Posted by: mindy_r ()
Date: February 01, 2008 02:45PM

hi,

i am new to raw food and i have decided to start with fruit smoothies for breakfast every morning (thank you to someone for the idea from my original post!) i have been drinking the healing smoothie (from the recipes section of this site) since i am trying to heal my belly from an ulcer, and other ones that i make from the fruit i have on hand. my problem is that although i love the taste of them i find that i feel hungry again pretty fast. i was thinking that i would blend in some type of protein to make me feel full longer. my idea was was to soak raw almonds over night and then grind them and add them to the smoothie. i don't know what you think about this idea, and how many would i add to a smoothie? any suggestions would be great. i want to eventually have green smoothies for lunch and then work my way to 100% raw. i am very nervous about the detox though! i am a wimp and i do not like being sick!

another question that i has was i was thinking about grinding flax seeds and adding them to my smoothies too but i don't know how much to add or even if this is a good idea!

thank you for your time and thank you in advance for any suggestions!

take care,

mindy

oh! i LOVE having the fruit smooties for breakfast. lately my stomach has been hurting less so i hope that means i am on the right track! i also have IBS so i am hoping that this will help those symptoms as well!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: blending protein into smoothies?
Posted by: blackfoot98 ()
Date: February 01, 2008 03:54PM