Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Cavitation? and other blender questions
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 19, 2008 02:47AM

Hi,
-
I'm new to living foods, and am very happy to find this webgroup.

I would like to buy a blender.(My 8 month old -solely breastfed until now- is just getting interested in foods and I'd like to start her off with some living food, as well as have a healthier diet for my husband and myself.) I've read the conversations here on which ones people prefer, and am leaning towards buying a Waring 3.5 HP.

I have a few questions and would appreciate any experience, ideas, comments you may have...

I like the idea of a stainless steel container because I'm not comfortable with the breakdown of polycarbonate with age. It seems only Waring sells stainless steel - is that right? I've read that Waring containers are more prone to cavitation. What is the problem with cavitation / introducing air into the blend?

Does any company make glass containers?

If I end up going with stainless steel is it a big problem not to see what is being blended without taking off the top of the container? Does one get to know about how long things take to blend after a while without looking?

Is it important to the quality and nutrition of the blended food to have a variable speed control? Or is the low/high, on/off, enough. Does Waring make variable speed control? - I only saw low/high and programmable ones on the everythingkitchens site.

Thanks in advance for any advice you may give.

Beet-mama!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Cavitation? and other blender questions
Posted by: baltochef ()
Date: February 19, 2008 04:23AM

beet-mama