Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

ultimate green smoothie
Posted by: emiliab ()
Date: March 16, 2008 08:38PM

what is the ultimate recipe for a green smoothie? I have a regular blender. Its works really well. And I have a Juicer. What are some good recipes. I'm really new to this, and I've been raw for 5 days now so far. I know that some people add something called vitamix...can someone tell me where i can get the ingredients.

thanks everyone!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: ultimate green smoothie
Posted by: veggiefreak ()
Date: March 16, 2008 11:47PM

haha, so cute. A vitamix is a blender!! the ingredients are added to the vitamix to be blended up. I will post a couple of my fave smoothies in a bit!
Veggiefreak

Date: March 17, 2008 12:22AM

hahah. i laughed after i realized i wrote vitamix. therew's something else vita-something....so i didn't bother to change it b/c i couldn't remember what i was called.

Date: March 17, 2008 01:10AM

Here are a few that I do on a regular basis:

6-7 pieces kale
1 apple
1/2 lime with peel
2-3 big handfuls arugula
4-5 leaves of mint
scoop of chia seeds (does anyone else go crazy over chia seeds?)

1 banana
4-5 strawberries unhulled, just thrown in after washing
1/2 head of small cabbage - or a good amount of any other green

Sometimes I soak the chia seeds before I add them so that they gel up. If I don't have apples, I use pears. Since I only eat 2 a day, I usually just blend the whole apple or pear.

one more -
1 stalk celery - the whole thing (not one rib)
2 c (usually I do less, 1 c is fine for me)
1 banana