Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

help deciding on a dehydrator
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: September 13, 2008 07:18PM

Hello!

I'm new to this posting thing, so I hope I've chosen the right forum. Apologies if I'm wrong. Anyway, I've recently begun a (mostly) raw food diet and am loving it.

I'm happy on mostly salads and smoothies, but am coveting many recipes that call for a dehydrator. I've read the Excalibur is the way to go. I'd like any input from people who dehydrate frequently.

Main questions:
*Is the Excalibur really worth the extra money?
*Is it Ok to have the 4 drawer or the 5 drawer?
*Or is the 9 drawer really that much better?
*I've heard the 9 drawer is rather noisy. Is that the case? (I don't have anywhere but my kitchen to use it.)
*Are there any other questions I should ask? smiling smiley

I plan to make crackers and 'bread' with it, also dehydrate nuts and fruits.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: help deciding on a dehydrator
Posted by: Choco ()
Date: September 15, 2008 10:48PM

To me, the Excalibur is 100% worth the extra money.
And you would definately want to go with the 5 or 9 tray only.

Depending on how large your family is and how often you need to make large batches of dehydrated food, you'll decide on either a 9 or 5 tray. I own a 9 tray and never used all 9 trays at the same time. If I could choose again I would purchase a 5 tray due to my eating habits and my space needs. The 9 tray is very large and takes up height. the 5 tray is exactly the same width but shorter and less bulky looking than the 9 tray.