Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

dehydrating pineapple
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 20, 2007 07:21PM

Hello! I am new to raw and just inherited a dehydrator. When I looked up dehydrating pineapples each website was very different. One said 10 hours one said 12-18. Also how big do the slices need to be? I do not have the luxury to stay at home and watch the dehydrator for 8 hours. Does anyone have any specifics. I am dying for some dehydrated pineapples to munch on if needed. The transition has been a little tricky for me. Any other simple recipes for the dehydrator? Thanks for your help! I am loving the new found energy.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: dehydrating pineapple
Posted by: islandgirl ()
Date: August 20, 2007 07:26PM

The thickness and amount of juice in the fruit as well as the dryness / humidity of the air will determine the time. I would make them as thin as you can slice them and dehydrate them overnight. Then in the morning, flip them over while you are gone to work. I haven't dehydrated a lot, but most things take a minimum of 12 hours but most, more like 24. Fruits have a lot of juice and take longer. I have also turned off the dehydrator if I had to be gone and couldn't "watch" and then resumed it when I came home. It won't hurt to do that.

Date: August 20, 2007 07:55PM

I had no idea I could turn off the dehyrator and come back. That thought never occured to me. First I will try the overnight/work idea, If that doesn't work I will try to turn it off and resume. Thank you so much!

Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: August 21, 2007 03:22PM