Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Where are the RAW fooders in Sacramento?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 18, 2008 07:56PM

I am new to this Raw diet. I just went cold RAW! I do not have a sprouting system or a Wheat grass jucier. I have a very old blender,Chamion jucier and 1 ajar sprouter. So, How do you find any used supplys? I have a very limited income and buying from the store is very expensive. Also, looking events I am a diabetic.

all help would be appriciated!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Where are the RAW fooders in Sacramento?
Posted by: perpending ()
Date: March 14, 2008 01:59AM

Hi there! I am not from Sacramento, but I am from Stockton. I too just starting eating raw. I also am beginning from scratch. I have found some ways around the expensive equipment for now. I figure I can buy one piece of equipment every month or two. A food processor works great (but I don't have one ;o) For now I have modified some recipes simply by grating my vegetables and then if I need to blend, that works well as some of the items will break down more easily.I am sure a spiral slicer makes is seem more like pasta and keeps things more firm, but I figure I am masticating it all anyway. I have decided not to stress until I can buy a juicer next month. Until then I will by organic juices. I have been using a lot of my own pomegranate juice that I froze. A blender works really well for breakfast if you are having a smoothie and I have come up with some creative meals in the blender. I hope this helps. Another thing is to keep it simple. I eat a lot of fresh vegetables. An apple with raw almond butter is great. Artisana has some great products and until I can make my own "butters" I am pretty content. Hope this helps.