Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Crohn's Flare During Detox? Help! sad smiley
Posted by: petrichor ()
Date: June 08, 2009 03:56AM

I went raw at the end of April, and I try to do 100% raw everyday. I may unintentionally eat some foods that are not raw (they are to the best of my knowledge). I have been eating tomato and avocado a lot, pretty much daily. I eat bananas daily. I drink green smoothies almost daily, usually using spinach. I try to eat a lot of fruit but I tend to get full after 3 bananas or a few apples, so I don't know if I'm getting a full 2,000 calories- it may be closer to 1200 on some days. I drink fruit and vegetable juices fairly regularly and occasionally do a 2-3 day juice feast on weekends.

I had been flaring for 7 months when I began raw. Horrible stomach pain and cramping, bloating, gas, bloody diarrhea, swelling joints (especially ankles accompanied with sore hips), fevers, nausea. I changed my diet multiple times before going raw.

After doing some research, I went raw over night. Things went great and within 3-4 days I was feeling a significant difference. Over the next month slow improvements were made, although so slow it was hard to tell whether or not I was getting better. I had one weekend where I ate too many nuts and seeds and started having problems again.

Since that time I've tried juicing, I've tried eating simple. Today's meals were 28oz orange juice.. a large nori roll with sprouts, cucumber, celery, olive, tamari..three bananas.. half bag of grapes.. 16oz green juice of spinach, red/green leaf lettuce, celery, two apples, spirulina.. large bowl of gazpacho soup with half diced avocado, added garlic, sea salt.