Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Crazy? Or just me? chemical question
Posted by: meganbubbs ()
Date: December 10, 2008 05:50PM

OK, I work as a nanny, taking care of two girls under 4 yrs. Their mother yesterday asked me to bathe them in bleach. She wanted me to put a cup of bleach into the bath with them because they have some pimples/diaper rash on their bums. They are already taking antibiotics for this. I told her I wouldn't do it, that I thought that was crazy, unhealthy and abusive. She tried to pressure me into doing this. I told her I would have no part of it, she only relented when I almost started crying when we were having a heated conversation about it. Almost lost my job but anyway;
Has anyone ever heard of this?
It seems awfull to me, the weird part is that she told me the pediatrician recommened this to her. But I am having a hard time dealing with that. Who would do that to their daughters?

If anyone has ever heard of this or any info regarding bleach baths please let me know,
Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Crazy? Or just me? chemical question
Posted by: debbietook ()
Date: December 10, 2008 07:26PM

Hi Megan
This probably isn't very helpful - it's just to say that I have two (adult) children and have never, ever heard of this, and would not dream of adding bleach to a children's bath! Completely agree with you.

Posted by: rawangel ()
Date: December 10, 2008 08:36PM

My eyebrows spontaneously shot straight up in the air when I read the word bleach. I cannot imagine that can be anything but ultra toxic for these little girls. Not only for their skin but their sensitive parts and future reproductive health. OMG! No way. You may need to turn this lady in. Just think of what she's not sharing with you.