Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

How do you make your hummus?
Date: June 13, 2008 12:53AM

Does anyone have a good alternative to zucchini hummus? I just don't like it, for some reason. I use zucchini, lemon, garlic, tahini. It's always got an "off" taste. But I'd love to have a nice, smooth, thick hummus to dip into. Anyone use anything other than zucchini? Or should I try sprouting chick peas maybe? I've never tried sprouting before.

I just want some hummus!!

Raw again since April 29, 2008.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: How do you make your hummus?
Posted by: frances ()
Date: June 13, 2008 01:32AM

Some people swear by raw hummus made with actual chickpeas. I think it's okay, but it's more work and I prefer the stuff made with zucchini anyway. Chavez is being a purist here by using sesame seeds instead of buying raw tahini. You could substitute the tahini if you prefer. Below that, see an entirely different hummus idea which I have never tried.

Hummus from the Raw Food Gourmet by Gabrielle Chavez

2 c. dried garbanzo beans, soaked overnight and sprouted for 2-3 days
1 c. brown, unhulled, raw sesame seeds, soaked for several hours to overnight, rinsed and drained
1 bunch parsley, chopped
2-3 stalks celery, chopped
juice of 3-4 lemons
1/2 - 1 c. olive oil
1-2 t. salt, or to taste

Using a juicer with homogenizing blank in place, process sesame seeds into a paste. In food processor, place liquid ingredients, salt, celery, and parsley together and liquefy. Add sesame seed paste and blend. Add garbanzos in small amounts through the open top and carefully push down with a rubber spatula.

Hummus from Raw Food, Real World by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis

4 c. cashews, soaked for 2 hours or more
1/2 c. lemon juice