Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Vitamin D? Do we need? How get?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 12, 2010 12:45AM

Hello,

My name is Steve. I am new at this. I am 70% raw. I started about a month or so ago. It's going well. Except that I wonder about my vitamin D intake. First of all, do we need vitamin D like the doctors are telling us. I do not get much sunshine. Very little. Especially in the cold months. And now that I'm eating fruits and vegetables,and not salmon, I wonder if I'm getting enough vitamin D.

I used to take a vitamin D supplement. But I've stopped all my supplements since I've been going raw. Or at least 70% raw. Should I be taking my vitamin D supplement? I took it today with my meal. And I had stinky gas. Are there some vegetables that are okay with vitamin D pills? That don't give you stinky gas? As I said I'm new at this. Any information you could give me about this topic would be great.

Thank you. Happy eating.

Steve

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Vitamin D? Do we need? How get?
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: May 12, 2010 02:08AM

Your gas is not from your supplement, it's from your diet.

Yes, keep taking your supplement. It's the lesser evil compared to damaging your skin. And despite what you may have read, D2 from mushrooms is just as good as D3:

[www.nutraingredients-usa.com]

The full paper is free, here:
[jcem.endojournals.org]

When we were on the savannas running around naked we did not often pass the age of 30. Now that we get much older and get profoundly saggy and wrinkly at later ages we can protect our skins from most of this destruction and get our D from a pill. I think that's fantastic.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/12/2010 02:13AM by arugula.