Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Newbie here wondering how large a smoothie?
Posted by: thickskin ()
Date: March 27, 2011 07:24PM

For a 50 year old woman? Ive just started 2 weeks ago but I'm not sure if I'm having enough of my morning smoothie. Whats that general size to have? Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Newbie here wondering how large a smoothie?
Posted by: Trive ()
Date: March 27, 2011 10:48PM

I make my smoothies LARGE... as much as it takes for me to feel full and not want something else to eat. And... it's a really good idea to include GREENS in your smoothie. The fruit disguises them so you don't taste/think about greens being in there, but they're soooo good for you (and filling too!)

This isn't your question, but I like adding some frozen banana or frozen peach or frozen berries - you get the idea - in my smoothies. Some people don't like freezing raw food, but I really like the extra thickness it adds to smoothies and personally don't think it harms it nutritionally.

My favorite raw vegan

Posted by: veghunter ()
Date: March 27, 2011 11:07PM

Mine are usually about 40 oz when blended, about 500 calories. These days I'm using 4 or 5 servings of fruit, plus greens, plus water.

Date: March 27, 2011 11:24PM

OK thanks so much . No wonder I was so hungry LOL. I think I'm making like half or less what you 2 make. I always add greens mostly spinach sometimes a little kale. Looks like I need to get another blender or make 2 batches. Mine is kinda small. Thanks so much for your respond. smiling smiley

Posted by: Prana ()
Date: March 28, 2011 12:46AM

I like 6 to 8 large bananas in my smoothie. My favorite is bananas and strawberries.

Posted by: Curator ()
Date: March 28, 2011 07:18AM